10 years of benzo help
    quagmir is offline New Member

Default 10 years of benzo help

Hello. Been reading a lot on the site and other forums but feel I need to post for answers.

About me. I am a disabled vet with PTSD and panic disorder with agoraphobia. For 10+ years now i have been on xanax at one dose or another starting at .25 and in 2010 now up to 1mg 4 to 5 times a day. I basically take it morning, noon, night and bedtime and have an extra when/if needed. I also started 10mg of amitriptilyne 4 times a day in 2010 for IBS which I always suspected was just a symptom of my disorders.

All wasnt perfect in life but in 2012 I was finally able to move back oit of my mother's basement and bought a home. At 36 its not where I thought I would be but progress is progress. In early March of this year I got the stomach bug which always hits me hard but this one kept me from eating and drinking really and i ended up not taking my meds for the most part. Not knowing the withdrawal symptoms at the time, I just thought I was going crazy. I ended up in the hospital to getme back on my meds after losing 20 pounds. They reduced my xanax to 3mg a day because they only handed out med 3 times a day, 1 mg each time. I got better but still didn't know that it was withdrawal and decided to take .5 mg 4 times a day rather than my prescribed 1mg.

So I had benzo rebound (my psych's words) about a month or so ago and have since lost 30 pounds after gaining back what i had lost before. His instructions 2 weeks ago was to get back on 1 mg 4 times a day but after reading all the withdrawal stuff I wasn't in a hurry to jump on more xanax so i just went to .75mg 4 times a day. My mood increased, the pain soreness, headaches and well I don't need to list it all to you guys, it all started to get better and i was actually hungry again and not so hypersensitive.