Alcohol and benzodiazepine codependent. Worried about withdrawals.
    Mr-Deeds is offline New Member

Default Alcohol and benzodiazepine codependent. Worried about withdrawals.

I take 1mg Xanax 3x daily. I also drink about 2 bottles of wine a night or a little over a half of a 750ml bottle of rum. I've been on the Xanax for 9 months. I have been drinking almost daily for about 5 years.

I have been wondering how physically addicted to the benzos for quite some time. I don't abuse the meds so I hardly ever feel the minor WD symptoms. But I have been wanting to know what to expect if for some hypothetical I didn't have my pills for a few days (let's say a week).

Would I go through bad withdrawals?
    Would I have WDs if I quit drinking and just take the Xanax?
    Would it be exponentially worse if I quit both at the same time?

Like I have said, I DON'T plan on doing this. But I would really like to know how serious my physical dependency to the Xanax and alcohol (mainly xanax!) may actually be.

Thank you,
    Mr.Deeds

Randy35 is offline Platinum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Mr-Deeds View Post
    I take 1mg Xanax 3x daily. I also drink about 2 bottles of wine a night or a little over a half of a 750ml bottle of rum. I've been on the Xanax for 9 months. I have been drinking almost daily for about 5 years.

I have been wondering how physically addicted to the benzos for quite some time. I don't abuse the meds so I hardly ever feel the minor WD symptoms. But I have been wanting to know what to expect if for some hypothetical I didn't have my pills for a few days (let's say a week).

Would I go through bad withdrawals?
    Would I have WDs if I quit drinking and just take the Xanax?
    Would it be exponentially worse if I quit both at the same time?

Like I have said, I DON'T plan on doing this. But I would really like to know how serious my physical dependency to the Xanax and alcohol (mainly xanax!) may actually be.

Thank you,
    Mr.Deeds