Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Catrina
Suboxone W/D?
    gracefulrayne1208 is offline New Member

Default Suboxone W/D?

Hey!! Im a newbie ive been searching around the site a bit, there is so much to learn! Thought I might need some anonymous advice or support. Okay, so here's the question of many to come, I'm sure. I have a dependency to Norco 10's, been on them 7-10 years (not consistently), along with clonazepam 1mg at bedtime. I'm trying to come off the Norco, I got six or seven 8mg strips and used those up in 8 days. I have an appt on Friday to talk with a Dr about joining the suboxone program, I have already been cleared by their therapist. So I don't see any reason I would be denied. But, between Monday, 9/05 to Friday 9/09, will I experience any WD symptoms, from the subs or opiates? Did the first set of Subs help any? I took those from Saturday 08/27 to Sunday 09/04? Any help is super welcomed!

Catrina is online now Diamond Member

Welcome Grace!

8 mg of sub is a huge dose. Subs are a very different drug than any short acting opiate like Norco. It's much, much stronger and the half life is many times longer. Norco, for example has a half life of 4-6 hrs while subs have a half life of as much as 72 hours. Even after only taking the subs for 8 days, the amount of sub that has built up in your system is tremendous. The good news is that if you stick around here and follow the advice given to you, you can become stable on a much lower daily dose of the sub and by following Robert's sub taper plan, you can get off of them without much physical discomfort.

QUESTION: How much Norco were you taking on average per day before you began to use the subs?