Testimony - somethin finally worked
    pongo64 is offline Member

Default Testimony - somethin finally worked

I have been reading these forums for a long time, learning, but not really participating. I feel a little guilty. So here is my first post.

After a few tries I finally found something that works for me to shake opiate addiction. I have been using prescription opiates for 10 years; the last 2 have been the worst. I was addicted, but really only taking 2-4 Norco per day. After a motorcycle accident I began taking them and continued only to be high. After a personal tragedy, just one bad day, I started taking 10+ per day. Of course that stopped working fast so I moved on to 30Mg Oxies and ran it up to a $2000/Mo habit. I considered selling or moving to H to afford my habit and caught myself in a WTF are you thinking moment. I detoxed twice, but that was not long enough for me to really get past the fear of letting go. After reading up here, and elsewhere, I decided to find a doctor that would try a Suboxone program with me. Well, it worked. He knew his stuff, sat me down for an hour and told me how to do it right. Two 8Mg a day for a week, tapered to 8Mg per day, 4Mg then 2Mg. When I got down to 2Mg he (doc) had me skip days and continually move the time I took the drug until I just let go because I was tired of getting sleepy/dizzy which the drug does to me.

Anyway, success for me. If there is anyone out there like me, a working professional that is really ready to let go (and not just use Suboxone for a week until you get more $$) then it is worth a try. All of the other things are important. Especially the multivitamin, the exercise and staying busy/involved in building your new life. For most AA/NA is integral.

Robert_325 is offline Retired