Celexa and Psychotic episode...Please Help
    ThatArmyGuy is offline New Member

Default Celexa and Psychotic episode...Please Help

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right forum, but I was referred here from another forum. This is a copy of my post from that forum, hope you guys can help.

Okay, I'm obviously new and this is gonna be one zinger of a 1st post, but I'm in serious need of answers and any help would be GREATLY appreciated. This is gonna be long. 1st my Questions: Has anybody ever heard of something like this happening? What could be possible causes?

So far, it seems to be a combo of stress, missed dosage and alcohol. I'm seeing a doctor ASAP, but I really need to get this off my chest and talk to people who have experience taking this drug.

BACKGROUND: I'm a veteran who was diagnosed with depression after I got out of the Army. Well, I use the term diagnosed loosely. I spent 45 minutes talking to a shrink at the VA and he gave me a referral to my primary doctor for AD medication. I was started on 20mg Celexa. I noticed no change even after a couple of months and told this to my doctor. The doctor just kept upping the dosage 1st to 40mg then to 60mg. After no change then I got fed up and quit the medication. Had some minor issues for a few weeks afterwards but did okay. Fast forward several months. I'm having depression again and decide to give the Celexa another shot. I had quite a bit left from where I'd quit it and exp. date was still good so I started stepping back onto it. From 20mg to 40mg over a couple of months. I've been at 40mg for 3-4 weeks now when something happened.