Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Catrina
Codine Addiction
    kdunkley is offline New Member

Default Codine Addiction

Hi this is my first time ever posting and I really would love some advice.

I have been taking 300/30mg codeine for nearly 5 years, it started after I had my second child and had chronic back pain, but to be honest I felt like it helped me cope with two young children and made it feel like life was a little easier.

I started to notice after about a year that I would "feel" when my next dose was due as I would start to feel unwell I,e joint pain, headaches etc and then I stated to notice that the time between doses were becoming less and less.

I think I have been taking about 10 maybe 12 tablets a day.

In the summer I had been feeling unwell and had a blood test taken, it came back that I had raised liver functions, I got this result on a Friday, and after looking on the internet I had convinced myself that it was because of the amount of codeine I was taking, i felt so guilty and disgusted with my self especially guilt towards my young children, so i decided that i was coming off them completely.

I had already had 4 at this point (Friday) i woke on Saturday feeling okish but as the day carried on it was just a nightmare, skin hurting, muscles felt like they were tying to rip out of my skin, constantly on the toilet, feeling sick, emotional, scared, anxious and that night i had no sleep at all as the pain in my legs were horrendous, Sunday came after no sleep at all in fact i just sat on my sofa crying all night... Sunday was just as bad but with all the above symptoms the same if not slightly worse... i felt really alone, my husband new what i was doing but i could never express in words to him what i was going through.