I'm going to try to shorten this as much as I can. HA!
I'm 48. I am female and at age 23 I had my first panic attack. Never will forget it. Same day I went to my family doc and was prescribed Prozac after determining I wasnt having a heart attack or any other physical problems. From that point until approximately 6-8 weeks this medication was changed several times. Antidepressant to other antidepressants. I was a beauty school student at the time and stopped going to school. Agoraphobia set in big time! Couldnt leave my house and all of that jazz. I made an appt with a psychiatrist who prescribed Valium which made me feel SO weird it caused more anxiety and panic. Xanax same, Ativan...same but better just didnt last very long but I remember it making me very sleepy and then the panicky feelings would race back in within a couple of hours. Still on Paxil I believe it was at the time. Then. A newer doctor at the same facility prescribed klonopin and it was like I lightswitch flipped on! I was immediately ok! All day every day. It was my cure. I felt "NORMAL " again. I went back snd graduated from beauty school then a couple of years later finished nursing school with a huge interest in psych nursing. Throughout this time from then until now I have been prescribed Klonopin. Sometimes it was at higher doses such as 8mg daily but over the last ten or more years I've only taken 1-2 mg daily and within the past 5 years 1 mg day and never thought twice about it being ripped away. FOUR doctors I had seen and had retired or moved on from the same facility passed me on to the next doc assuring me that the would recommend to the next...NO MED CHANGES specifically on the klonopin. It is like a safety thing for me. Just having the bottle in my bag makes things ok. I've not had a full blown panic attack in years.