Advice on subutex taper method please...
    hope101 is offline New Member

Default Advice on subutex taper method please...

Hi

I have been having a look around the site & have taken note of Robert's taper method...however I have a couple of questions & am also seeking some additional advice.

I have been using >>>>>> for 22 years, over the last 3/4 years I have had a few months totally drug free & each time I have just done a straight cold turkey off of the
    H, however after relapsing yet again I made a decision to seek professional help & support and in April this year I was put on Suboxone, starting at 8mg daily and tapering down on a regular basis. Unfortunately when I was down to 1.6mg a day, I started to use H again and continued to do so for approx 3 months (didnt use the sub whent taking the H)..

I am now back on the subutex & have been taking them for 16 days and have managed to taper myself down from 8mg (suboxone) to 2mg (subutex). I just want to get off these things as quickly as possible and I appreciate that whichever method I use I will experience some withdrawal. However I am really scared as I keep looking on the internet and reading all these horror stories about withdrawal and PAWS and am beginning to think I should have just done a straight withdrawal off the H without taking anything as I have previously done. Though I just couldnt get my head around doing it that way this time.

I was wondering if because I had a break in the time that I was on H and not taking sub when relapsed will it be as bad as I think?

I will be following Robert's advice to get myself off of the 2mg...doing the 25% reduction.

I was just wondering if anyone can give me any additional advice or their experience if similar. Also can anyone give their experience with PAWS and
    and any advice to help combat PAWS.

Many thanks