Lexapro and Insomnia
    MT55 is offline New Member

Default Lexapro and Insomnia

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on here but I really need some help. Here is my story. About six months ago I experianced an Anxiety attack that last nearly a Month. I experianced a period where a couldn't sleep for 4 days. I finally got some help and was put on 10 mg of lexapro and Lunesta. I stayed on the lunesta for about 2 months then weened my self off. I was sleeping decent for a time with only the lexapro and some melatonin right before bed.

I started coming off the Lepexapro January 1st. I had no side effects when I went from 10 to 7.5. I did that for two weeks. I then went from 7.5 to 5 for another 2 weeks. This is when I started getting all the side effects. Brains saps, chills, shackieness. Anyway my sleep got progressively worse as I lowered my dosage. I then went to 2.5 mg for about a week and now I have been off the Lexapro for 4 days. The only realy side effect is that I cant sleep at all.

I dont want to go back on the lunesta but not sleeping for 3 days in a row is really tuff. Can anyone tell me if they have had a similiar experiance? How long will it be for my sleep to be back to normal or semi normal.

I feel great today no withdrawal effect, besides the sleep, and no anxiety.

mt55

jc545 is offline Junior Member

Default Lex and Lunesta

I too used Lunesta and found it very effective, but my doctor didn'y want me to continue using it as much, so that is how I ended up on Lexapro. It was presecribed to overcome my sleep problem, which was a type of anxiety whenever I attempted to sleep. I describe it as I can't get the gears to stop turning.

The Lexapro seemed to help sleeping for awhile, but was never as effective a Lunesta. Lunesta was the magic bullet, and worked the same every time.