Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By Randy35
  • 1 Post By Randy35
Advice for taper oxy er plus dilaudid- which first-when start buprenorhine
    smilingdave is offline New Member

Default Advice for taper oxy er plus dilaudid- which first-when start buprenorhine

Hi,

Two years dilaudid 8mg 4 per day for severe hip pain, increasing to 2 per day OxyContin 20 ER plus 3 4mg Dilaudid 6 times per day. Finally was able to have the surgery, and now tapering to get done with this!
    i
    My doc is recommending I taper off dilaudid first then oxy er. I need a slow taper or get very sick. I'm worried that since oxy only comes in 5mg increments that dropping 5 at a time will be too much when I reach that point. What's the advantage of tapering ir first then er? Why not just switch to ir and keep dropping in smaller increments? I am now down to the 2 oxy 20 er and 6 4mg Dilaudid daily.. I'm a teacher so cannot be sick all the time.

I'd greatly appreciate any advice for approaching my situation. My doc seems willing to help.but sometimes I don't like his advise,

Thank you kindly for any support.

froggy_069 is offline Member

Hi Dave, welcome to the forum!

It's awesome that you are looking to taper down off the pills. You said you get sick when you taper too fast so you know all too well just how much of a hold those things can have on you. I wish I had a solid answer for which to taper first, the ir or er and what the advantage would be. If you are worried about dropping 5mg at time when that time comes, perhaps you can stay at your current dose and cut your pills in such a way that you are able to drop even 1mg at a time if you cut them right. Once you have tapered down a full 5mg you can drop to next lower dose and repeat the process? Just a thought.

Have you expressed these same concerns to your Dr? Maybe he can come up with another plan that will work the way you need it to even if it involves switching to a different med of a different strength.