Oxycontin / Depression Concerns
    scubablt is offline New Member

Default Oxycontin / Depression Concerns

Hello.

I need some advice and help and words from people who have used Oxycontin. I have been using it for three years for intense pain related to a horrible injury I suffered a few years ago. I hurt so badm, I couod NOT function or work or live a normal life without some pain Rx. My level 8 to 9 pain level totally controls my life. It is all I can think about when it flares up and gets bad. I suffer pain 24/7! The OC helps me be able to think @ somethng else..... know what I mean? If you are a chronic pain syfferer, you do! Right?!? I get it legally from my Dr., but I do have some important questions I would be grateful to receive some answers/advice to:

1) I am now at 160 mg/day (2-80 mgs/day, 12 hours a part). I started at 80 mg/day, but had to gradually move up over three years to 160/day to get something even close to adequate relief. Is that normal? How long before I need to move up to the next higher dosage? I know everyone is different, but is there a medical formula that Drs. and Pharmacists look at or use to know you are not just wanting more Rx?

2) I also use 4-5 mgs (20 mg/day) for breakthru pain... which I have to use every day... and need more! Is this regimine normal, you know, to use some Rx. for Br. thru pain?

3) I have been guilty of "chewing" my OC some. I know it says NOT to do that, but I have. Has anyone else done that? What can you tell me @ chewing other than what the "label" says" I do NOT get any kind of a high... seriously, none! So, it is not used for a high, but to feel normal and get relief from pain. Any advice here?

4) It is so expensive, but I do get some help from insurance. How much is it to pay full price? Does anyone sell it on the street to make ends meet and provide for the family? I WILL not do anything illegal -- just curious.