Like Tree1Likes
Feeling scared
    Scared999 is offline New Member

Default Feeling scared

So I'm 24, I'm a nurse and I've been addicted to codeine for about 3/4 years, I've quit about 5 times before but can never last more than a couple of weeks. I can't tell anybody because of my job obviously, when I'm not at work it's easy to quit, but it's so hard not to take codeine when I'm dispensing it at work.

I've recently given up for 2 weeks approx and I'm scared, so scared, I'm back at work on Weds, how can I stop myself taking it again, I always think oh just one then you won't have any more and then obviously it spirals out of control.

I'm so disappointed that this has happened to me, I'm so frightened work will find out and I just don't want to be controlled by Drugs any more. What can I do to stop myself taking them when I have to handle them every day?????

I've never written on a forum before but I'm tying every thing this time not to start again, I'm writing here, I'm keeping a diary to try and remind myself how >>>> it's been. I'm ruining my life

melindau is offline Member

I know how hard this one is!I had a cleaning business and it seems like everyone of them took some kind of pain pills and yes i would look at that bottle and say the same thing as you do (Oh just one) I kept telling myself all that I would loose if I took that one!!! dont feel alone in your field of work there are so many addicted to opiates...I think you have a good posting on here...you can look back and start to get at yourself for taking that one first pill...I know for myself I had to get pretty disgusted with myself before I quit!!!
    keep us posted on how you are doing!
    Melinda

Iluv2smile is offline Platinum Member

You are so young you definitely don't want to start the ball rolling with your nursing board when you get caught..
    You will get caught .,..it is just a matter of time..