• 1 Post By Randy35
  • 1 Post By Catrina
  • 2 Post By Catrina
  • 1 Post By Randy35
  • 1 Post By Catrina
living with an addict
    amber329 is offline New Member

Default living with an addict

This is my first time actually writing about our problem. I know there is nothing I can do to change the situation, but I really just want to have a safe place to talk to people who might get it.
    I have been with my husband for three years and for the last two he has been taking pain medicine. He has arthritis in his spine and some other problems in his back that cause constant pain. Being young he cannot get a prescription for himself, besides hydrocodone. Before the script we were spending 60$ a day, after about 30$ a day. He had a good job at the time and I didn't notice all the money I never saw. But he got sick of being addicted and tried to quit. This ended up with him jobless and still taking pain killers. After that, relapsing and quitting happened on repeat many time. Costing him many jobs and putting much stress on us. There have been months at a time were we had no money for bills and had to use credit. Now he cant keep a job for more than a few weeks at a time. Because we cant afford the habit and when he doesn't take them he is in pain or sick and loses his job. I have a minimum wage job and luckily we have no kids.somedays I feel like I can't handle it anymore. When I talk to him about bills, money, how I feel he get ecstatic. Screaming, crying, punching himself and objects. Not even when he is with drawing just anytime. he says hes in so much stress, which I believe, and he is always in pain, which I want to believe all the time, and he says I dont understand what he is going through, I don't but I feel he doesnt understand how I feel.