Want to help my husband - chronic pain, high level of meds
    Wifeofchronicpain is offline New Member

Default Want to help my husband - chronic pain, high level of meds

Hi everyone, first post here for me, and I'm looking for advice.

Cliffnotes version. My husband is a chronic pain sufferer, has spinal fusion from T3 to S1 (middle shoulder blades to tailbone), and a HOLY HELL of a dose of pain meds. I'm a pharmacy technician, and my husband was on the highest dose of OxyContin we've given out. That includes all cancer patients, too! 60mg three times a day, plus 40mg of Percocet a day (often more, and he'd run out before his next appointment... the normal stuff, from what I've been reading). Pain meds for nearly 4 years. Totally dependent.

Because of the way narcotics seem to cause MORE pain for people, and because of wanting to use the electrical stimulator implant, and the general desire to get back to LIVING if possible (he's officially disabled for the past 43 months, not even 41 years old yet)... We looked at detox to Suboxone.

Now to the longer part.... Last Friday (2 days ago now), husband went into a small hospital for the drug switchover. He took his last OxyContin Thursday night, and they put him on a Dilaudid pump while the OxyContin ran through his system. They turned it off 12 hours ago now (8:30am Sunday morning), and were going to wait about 8 hours before giving him Suboxone. By 2pm he was doing HORRIBLY. His main withdrawal is emotional along with aches and pains. He was angry, saying that this wasn't going to work, picking at his fingernails until they were BLEEDING..... and it's such a small hospital that they are not equipped to deal with the psychological issues going on for him. They gave him 1mg Ativan, didn't help really.... Then they gave him the shot of Suboxone early, whereas he PROMPTLY threw up. Still insisted that it "wasn't going to work". Yeah.