Scripting by Pharmacists
    Miles is offline Member

Default Scripting by Pharmacists

With the plethora of prescription drugs available for virtually every known medical condition, how can a physician be expected to keep up with what is new in the market? Wouldn't a new paradigm be appopriate here? I.e., let the physician diagnose, and the pharmacist prescribe.

Or, better yet, in a truly "free society," why shouldn't these drugs be available to anyone w/o a prescription? Such was the free market model before the onset of the therapeutic state!

jaserell is offline New Member

Although the pharmicists do have it over the drs. in knowing more about the drugs, the docs do have a book called a PDR in which they could look up and get a full description on all the drugs before they prescripe. I am a pharmacy technician and have found this way has worked well since the begining of pharmacy. The Docs and the Pharmacists do discuss situations out over the phone if need be.

Ellaine Janicki

Miles is offline Member

But the doc-pharmacist dialog is merely an extra step in the process and to a degree contributes to the high cost of healthcare. As a Pharm Tech, you probably have access to an on-line PDR. Most docs do not have the time nor staff to spend wading through that tome. I simply don't understand the current paradigm... unless it reinforces the covetous sanctity of the physician.

kellrx is offline Member