• 2 Post By Forceout
  • 2 Post By Forceout
  • 2 Post By Thomas543
  • 2 Post By 18yrsonvicodin
  • 1 Post By Forceout
18 years on Vicodin...
    18yrsonvicodin is offline New Member

Default 18 years on Vicodin...

I was diagnosed 18 yrs ago with a severe case of fifths disease that made every joint in my body swell double in size. (A virus I picked up from one of my kids that reacted terribly on me) The only thing that helped was Vicodin. I could kill the doctor who started me in this mess but he is long gone. It started 1 every 6 hrs and over time has turned into 8 a day. I am a massage therapist. It’s a physically demanding job and I have to be pain free and withdrawal free to work. I have tried tapering and doesn’t work. My PCP has been good (prob too good) about keeping me supplied with 180 Vicoprofens per month. I know I need help to get off, but the fear of being out of work and losing everything I have keeps me afraid to ask for help. If I go to a detox clinic or ask for help, there will be no more pills and I will be out of work. I have tried to stop cold turkey and that’s just not an option. I just need some help, ideas on how to get this poison out of me and make my mind rewire to be normal. I just want to feel normal and stop being a prisoner to these pills. I am the bread winner of the family and also teach part-time. I think if I had the luxury of walking away to a clinic for 3 weeks I could do it, but there’s no way I can be out of work! How do you get clean while trying to work? The pills are the only way I can push myself each day to have the energy to get my job done. This is my first time on this forum so anyone who can help or has any suggestions, they are welcome. It’s not a motivation thing for me, it’s a financial thing. Living week to week gives no time for me to get professional treatment. I’m worried I am going to die because of liver or kidney disease. 18 years and 6-8 Vicodin a day is all my body knows to function. I guess I am a functi