Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Thisweekforsure
  • 1 Post By Neanderthal
Am I pickle? 30 days off Oxy
    Neanderthal is offline New Member

Default Am I pickle? 30 days off Oxy

Hi, noob here, first post. Looking for opinions/experience.

I was taking Oxy for painful, idiopathic peripheral neuropathy. Started five / six years ago with Pecocet 10s maybe one a day, ended with Roxi (?) 15s four a day until a month ago.

Then I ran it off the rails somehow. I had back to back migraines (never had one before) two trips to the ER, two shots of Demerol in the butt. All within two weeks. Plus a few extra Oxy of course.
    I was sticking to the prescription pretty well, but would sometimes wander a bit. Not too bad . . . . but I am human and took an extra now and then. Never had any trouble making it up the next day.

Then after the second headache, it seemed like the meds turned on me. I was going into withdrawals (never before, so I had no clue what was happening) it felt like someone dropped a piano on me and the Oxy was NO HELP!
    Completely bewildered and hurting like hell I made another trip to the ER where the doctor pronounced me in withdrawal (Really? I had qty 60 of the 15s in my pocket) and showed me the door.

Went to my GP who told me to find another ER. I sent an SOS to my pain doc and spoke to their machine. The next ER also pronounced me in withdrawal (still had the 15s) but was concerned about my 220 over something BP and admitted me.

Spent the worst night of my life in the hospital and crawled home the next afternoon. Classic withdrawal now, but the docs (about 20 of them) all told me that opioids were to be avoided. I believed them and have been clean for 30 days.

I am thinking opioid induced hypoalgesia. . . . . . but I understand it is rare. Seems to fit, the Oxy (remember, I still had plenty) just made the piano hit hurt worse . . . .