Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Anonymous
Amazingly simple cure for my restless legs
    Anonymous Guest

Default Amazingly simple cure for my restless legs

Hi! I'm new, but have been lurking while awaiting my approval to post these past few weeks. I am a nurse, a mom, wife, chronic pain sufferer (RA and lupus, yeah me!) and currently weaning off tramadol. I'm at the point where I'd rather feel the pain than wake up with my body begging to be medicated because it's physically addicted to the pills.

So that leads me to my reason for posting; Those pesky restless legs. You've been there right?! Whether you're weaning/tapering or just plain cold turkey, chasing your legs around the bed has got to be the worst part of it! Each time I taper (I'm down to 150-200 mg tramadol) I have to restart this torture for the couple of nights it takes my body to adjust. Trying not to add more meds to the mix, so I searched for alternative solutions. Baths, Epson, lavender, blah blah blah...never works for me! One night in the depths of restless leg despair I found an article about using Irish Spring Soap.

You've got to be kidding me?! A bar of soap? Yeah right. I was out shopping the next day and mindlessly grabbed a bar. That night I dreaded going to sleep. I could feel the signs as I laid my weary body down to read to my kids...that vague thrumming and twitching. Great! Another sleepless night! But didn't I buy that soap?!

I ran down and grabbed the bar from my bag and off I went to my bedroom. Disgusted with my body for denying me rest, I threw the bar of soap under my blankets and decided to have a grand old pity party. Within seconds, I felt my legs still themselves. What? This can't be happening. I immediately fell into a deep sleep and was awaken by a warm sensation...a floating feeling. Turns out my 4 year old had crawled in with me and then proceeded to pee all over me while we both slept peacefully. Good times.