Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nursestudent13
Any advice for a nursing student who is tapering off methadone?

Default Any advice for a nursing student who is tapering off methadone?

help! I am a nursing student who is tapering off methadone. I was at 86 milligrams, and now I'm on 63. The clinic will not bring me down quickly at all. They will barely let me come down 5 milligrams A month. what does anyone think about going under for detox?I need a quicker way, I would like to be off in a year. The clinic just doesn't want me off, what should I do. Help!

bowtiesarecool is offline Junior Member

>>>>, I didn't see this post yesterday. I'm going through my WD and must have overlooked it. Sadly I don't know anything about methadone to give and advice. I don't know side effects of quiting faster then a medical professional suggests. I would look to wiser folks then myself. What kind of nurse are you studying to be? And if you want to share your story that would be cool as well.

Im studying to be an RN. Im a single mom of a toddler, and I desperately want to be off the methadone. It saved my life, but it is time for me to move on. The doc will write the order for me to go down, but the clinic takes forever, like a month to fill it. I feel like I am getting the run around. I feel discouraged. ..and I am so sorry about your WDs. Exercise if you can, I know it helps.

2BeFreeofThem is offline Member

Hi nursestudent13

Congrats on your choice to get off of methadone. I'm currently tapering off methadone myself, although I am doing this through my Pain Mgt doctor who writes me a monthly rx, so I'm not at the mercy of a clinic. I started tapering I think back in early June and was at 80-90mg daily when I started my journey to get off this medication.