Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By emmafrost
  • 2 Post By Catrina
Help with husband's tramadol addiction
    NEWBIE07 is offline New Member

Default Help with husband's tramadol addiction

Hi,

I am new to this so please bear with me as it's a long story!

To start from the beginning, my husband suffers with a bad back. This has been going on for almost 6 years. He started out with being prescibed diclofenac and paracetamol, to which he took so much it lost it's effect. Then we progressed to co-codamol, again the same problem. Then came the tramadol.

He started on small doses, then worked his way up slowly-so slowly that I didn't see it happen until it slapped me in the face 12months ago, when I stood back and realised what had happened. Slowly but surely, my husband had changed into a man I didn't know. He was withdrawn-barely locked into a conversation with me, his labido had almost gone, he sweat like a pig- takes out a bath towel just to walk half a mile up the street so he can wipe the sweat. He urinates 7/8 times a night-if he can-spends about 30 mins attempting to go!

He wasnt waking up for work (maybe once or twice a week), problem was that I work full time also so my sick mother was taking our daughter to school each morning then she would be raving to find out he had been in bed all day.

Anyway when I clocked what happened, I snapped and basically said he needs to sort this out or that's it. So we decided he would be a stay at home dad and i would work overtime to cover the bills and he could do the school runs (keep Mum happy) and he could concentrate on getting his drug habit sorted and it would ease the pain of his back (Maybe even get an op).

This was a big mistake. It got 20x worse. He was now taking 30-40 a DAY!!