Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By silverback999
  • 2 Post By Ming23
Life feeling meaningless after stopping oxy
    silverback999 is offline New Member

Default Life feeling meaningless after stopping oxy

So this is the second time I seriously quit oxy. I've been using for about 2 years, most recently up to 640mg daily. First time I took a week of detox and then stayed clean for a month. However during that whole month, I felt really empty, had a knot in my stomach, and resorted to alcohol, benzos, other drugs, etc often. Hey at least the bright side is I'm "completely" clean when I'm using oxy... Lol. Problem is I think it barely got better during a whole month, while the physical symptoms disappeared after 3-4 days.

Now I've been clean for 3 days and thankfully the physical symptoms are fully gone due to subs. That's all great, but that feeling of emptiness, anxiety, boredom etc is back. On oxy I could sit on the couch watching tv and be fully content, and now doing the same thing, I'm bored and anxious all day

Any advice? This MUST be the last time I quit. I cannot keep wasting my savings on this >>>>.
    Ming23 likes this.

Flower child 2015 is offline Junior Member

I am told your brain has to learn to create its own endorphins again - not sure how long that takes
    Exercise and distractions may be helpful.
    Good luck !!

silverlining1 is offline Senior Member

Hey, silverback....

Exercise!!! Get out and walk......anything to keep moving. This will help your body begin to produce those endorphins on its own. While on opiates, your body quit producing, as the opiates filled all that.

You have such beautiful sights in the UK.....walk around and enjoy......you will start having a moment here, a moment there....of happiness......keep moving!!! Being around people who enjoy life is also very beneficial.....

Good job on quitting, silverback!

JeffRob887 is offline Banned

Quote Originally Posted by silverback999 View Post