Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By sm1970
  • 1 Post By sm1970
  • 1 Post By sm1970
  • 2 Post By Randy35
My 1st week tapering off of Tramadol
    sm1970 is offline New Member

Default My 1st week tapering off of Tramadol

Hi! I'm brand new to this thread. I've been on Tramadol for about 2 years for chronic knee pain to a botched surgery. Several surgeries later still led me to be in so much pain. At one time I was taking 150mg 3-4x/day. That's way too much. I finally had to learn to regulate my dosage to 250mg/day since the amount of my prescription was decreased. And that was still more than I was prescribed. Because I was starting to run low, just last Wed I finally decided I've had enough of this evil medication. I want off! When it was 1st prescribed to me, I was told that Tramadol had no consequences of addiction or w/d's. I'm so angry at myself. I don't want to live like this anymore. Also, I don't want to go cold turkey so I decided that I would start taking 75mg in the morning & no more the rest of the day. It's been very hard. So far I have been successful. I even made an appointment with my primary care doc to get help. The anxiety & the creepy crawly feelings have been the worse parts for me. My doc prescribed me Lyrica & Xanax. I had previously been on Lyrica (150mg 2x/day) & I did quit that cold turkey almost 2 months ago. That wasn't too bad. So, he said to go back on the Lyrica because it has apparently been successful with w/d's. I don't know if I'm doing the right thing. However. I've only been taking the Lyrica in the afternoons once a day. It has helped with the afternoon discomfort. I'm even considering going to an NA meeting. I've never taken any type of med before, nor have I ever tried smoking weed. I don't even drink. And now my life has been so consumed with taking Tramadol. I really need the support & suggestions. And I would love to hear from anyone who has completely won the battle of getting off of Tramadol. I'm ready & willing to quit & I k