Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Thisweekforsure
  • 1 Post By Tredecop
Need help weaning off tramadol
    Tredecop is offline New Member

Default Need help weaning off tramadol

Hi, this is my first time posting. I have been using tramadol about 1 1/2 years, up too 800 mg some days. Tapered down to 400 mg now. I've read here about using suboxone to help with withdrawals? I've tried tapering but I get bad depression. I know I need to be off long enough to score 26 on the COWS. How low do I need to taper before stopping the tramadol to start suboxone? Also I take 1 mg daily klonopin for social anxiety. Thanks!

Ricky71 is offline Platinum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Tredecop View Post
    Hi, this is my first time posting. I have been using tramadol about 1 1/2 years, up too 800 mg some days. Tapered down to 400 mg now. I've read here about using suboxone to help with withdrawals? I've tried tapering but I get bad depression. I know I need to be off long enough to score 26 on the COWS. How low do I need to taper before stopping the tramadol to start suboxone? Also I take 1 mg daily klonopin for social anxiety. Thanks!
    Suboxone should be your absolute last option! Suboxone therapy from start to finish is roughly two months? If you taper the Tramadol correctly you should have very little discomfort and withdrawal symptoms. How long have you been on the Klonopin? What are your plans concerning the Klonopin, do you want to eventually get off that as well? Let us know how you want to proceed? We can help you with the proper taper schedule for the Tramadol or the Suboxone? I think you should avoid the Suboxone until you try "correctly" tapering the Tramadol? Let us know? God bless us all!