Quitting my benzos: tips, stories, etc?
    Anonymous Guest

Default Quitting my benzos: tips, stories, etc?

Hey all,

I've been on mostly xanax for just about 6 years now. I've been using it in maintenance form for 2 years--my psychiatrist prescribed me xanax extended release. During these two years, I've very often finished my xanax earlier than directed, and shamefully, I doctor shopped a bit to bridge the gaps.

I have now successfully tapered down to 1mg to 1.5mg/day of xanax extended release. I've been on this low dosage (for me) for about 6 weeks. A few weeks ago, my psychiatrist dropped me due to a high balance on my account (I'd gotten fired from my job), and it's just so hard and expensive to keep depending on benzos.

My doctor said I shouldn't have major withdrawal at the 1mg to 1.5mg dosage. I'm almost out of pills, and I'm thinking I'm gonna finish this script and free myself of this habit.

I have A LOT of neurontin...about 9 bottles of 300mg capsules, and I do take propanolol (beta blocker) daily.

I'm ready to be free of benzos.

Any advice? Thoughts? Stories?

Also...how long does it take to feel normal again after quitting?

I appreciate any and all input, and I wish you all luck on your battles and journeys. I understand what you feel.

Tucker63 is offline Banned

Hi. 1 mg per day doesn't seem like a lot but I suppose every day it would. I take Xanax as well but I take them every once in a while for anxiety; not every day. I split a .50 mg in half when I do use them, otherwise it would knock me out. If you have daily high anxiety, could you get by on .25 mg? If you're concerned wean down slowly even if you're breaking pills in half. I'm not an expert by any means buts that's my two cents. Just curious...weren't you really tired/drowsy when taking a lot during the day? Good luck. You can do this.

Ricky71 is offline Platinum Member

Quote Originally Posted by goaldigger View Post
    Hey all,