Reducing fentanyl with severe chronic pain
    EndoSucks is offline New Member

Default Reducing fentanyl with severe chronic pain

Hi,

I'm looking for some advice. I have severe pain from active endometriosis, adenomyosis and interstitial cystitis. It's a bit like having a burst appendix but all over, including referred pain into the lower back, loin, legs and up to my ribs.

I've been using fentanyl patches for about 11 years. Initially I settled at 75mcg. In that time I've increased my dose twice, once in 2008 to 100mcg and once 2012 to 125mcg. I've not needed any increase since. My pain is still pretty bad, 6-7/10, but has consistently been so, as opposed to 8-9+/10 without the fentanyl (I never say 10... It can always be worse IMO). The few occasions that I've been given higher doses in hospital, I've had reduction to 3-4, without any drowsiness or respiratory depression, and controllable nausea and constipation. But they've been loathe to stay at those doses after discharge. So I settled on 6 -7 being my "normal".

My doctors have now decided I have opioid induced hyperalgesia, despite my consistent levels of pain and worsening endometriosis, and started a drug taper. Well, I say taper... I was told to stop taking any morphine breakthrough (20-40mg avg 1-2 a day) and reduce my fentanyl to 100mcg. So I did.

I've suffered no withdrawal symptoms (and I have in the past when previously reducing too quickly, 50%, after a surgery, so I know what to look for) but, as expected, my pain has significantly worsened. I'm now mostly averaging 8/10 a day with 6-7 episodes of 9+ breakthrough, I'm only getting one day out of three with full effects, and the little quality of life I had is now further reduced.