Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By 7fourteen
  • 1 Post By aztecblondieRN
  • 1 Post By aztecblondieRN
Three months off...Feeling about 75%
    aztecblondieRN is offline New Member

Default Three months off...Feeling about 75%

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting, but I have used the wonderful advice posted on this site for my Sub taper, and just reading the support you share with each other has really helped me.

Brief history; I was on opiates (and whatever else I could find) for 6 years, got put on Suboxone and stayed there for 6 more years. I was on anywhere from 16mg to 2mg per day, depending on what "research" my doctor had read recently about what dosing works best. Anyway, I finally did the taper myself over several months, and I've been off of everything for more than 3 months. Last dose was November 6th, 2015.

For the most part my body is doing "ok". I hate to discourage anyone who is going through the worst parts of withdrawal, because this is nothing like the first month! It's just that I still cannot sleep well. I still am sneezing a lot. I still stretch a lot. I still have GI issues. My body feels like there is definitely something "off". Almost like a chemical imbalance. I have no energy. I go to work and go home. I used to love to shop and do "girl stuff", but I have no energy for anything but the requirements. I am a single mom; a nurse. I do realize that I was on a LOT of medication for a dozen years and it will take time. I just was not expecting it would take more than three or four months. I read threads where people are like "Three weeks off subs and I feel great!". I am just not there yet. What I have tried: Melatonin (helps me fall asleep, but I still wake up 4-6 hours later and that's not enough ZZs for me); B vitamins, B complex. I have an OLD prescription bottle of Gabapentin that I have taken one or two a month (when the sleep really NEEDS to happen). I just hate the way it makes me feel the next day, so it's not really worth it.