Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By johnmason
Tramadol Cessation Plan/Advice?
    lvacqua is offline New Member

Default Tramadol Cessation Plan/Advice?

Hello, first post here after many months of reading around...

I've been using Tramadol for almost ten years - for the first six years or so it was only 3-4 50mg pills per day. Then in 2010 I began taking more, and more, usually one 50mg pill every two hours, and often two 50mg pills at once. In recent weeks I've used 2x 50mg pills, every two hours, totaling sixteen per day.

I get it through my doctor (a small amount, supposedly for menstrual cramps) and the rest from online pharmacies. Tramadol will become a Class IV Controlled Substance on August 18, meaning my supply will be cut off.

I've thought about quitting, and tried, but when I stopped I had opiate withdrawal symptoms, but also symptoms very much like withdrawal from Effexor XR (which, of course, I am still on, having never successfully stopped taking it). In other words, on top of the normal opiate profile of severe flu-like symptoms and lack of sleep, etc, I also seem to get panic attacks, crying jags, electric "shock" type sensations in my head, vertigo, angry outbursts followed by sobbing...

My question is how, exactly, to taper this down in the time I have? I currently have 345 pills, and can access an additional 180 (or more, depending on the refil date for the online pharmacy).

In short, I DO want to stop using, and it seems the DEA has given me a deadline and the need to do this as quickly (but still gradually) as possible.

If I use ten per day, what I have now will last for 35 days. If I got more, it would last for 50 days, give or take, just under two months...again, at current consumption levels.