• 1 Post By thefigurehead
  • 1 Post By MooningTheMan
  • 1 Post By David256
Finally jumping after 11 years on Suboxone/Subutex
    MooningTheMan is offline New Member

Default Finally jumping after 11 years on Suboxone/Subutex

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. I've been reading people's stories of tapering and jumping for years and have been to afraid to do it. I started suboxone 11 years ago after a 20+ Norco a day habit, along with OC, Percs, etc.

A friend told me about Suboxone and I started taking it 11 years ago. My doc first prescriped me 16mg/day but he didn't really care how much I took. He just said, let me know when you need more. After 4 years I was up to 32mgs+/day (which I know now, wasn't doing anything besides draining my wallet). I stayed at 32mgs for 4 years and then decided enough was enough. I was nodding off while driving, couldn't really focus on anything, could stay awake while working and didn't have much interest in anything or anyone anymore.

3.5 years ago, we went on vacation to visit my in-laws for 2 weeks and I decided I was going to cut my dose in half and it was a cake-walk. Going from 32mg to 16mg was easy. 1.5 years later I decide to go down again and dropped to 8mg, which again was easy.

My family and I made a big move almost 2 years ago and I decided I was going to be done by the end of that year. (That didn't work out as planned. It's been 2 years and I'm finally making the jump.)

During the first year of those 2 years I tapered from 8mg to 1mg and then again down to .6mg. I stayed on .6mg for about a year.

About a month ago I started my final descent. BTW, the whole time I was taking suboxone I was dosing 4-5 times a day. So, I when I decided to quit I tapered to .25mg and started taking 2 doses ( of .125mgs ) a day, which was hard. I did that for almost 2 weeks then tapered to .06mg 1 time a day for a week.