Husband had an affair while tapering off Suboxone
    KrisD12345 is offline New Member

Unhappy Husband had an affair while tapering off Suboxone

I really need help with how to support my husband as he tapers off Suboxone. I have no experience with addiction, so I am really struggling with how to relate and support him. He has been taking it for over 5 years, starting at 16mg and currently at 2mg tapering down. On top of Suboxone, we are dealing with his infidelity (a 5-month long affair I just discovered), as well as chewing tobacco use (which he kept hidden from me until I found out about the affair and we laid EVERYTHING on the table).

He has been hiding a lot of things from me, but he is ready to live honestly and has stopped the affair with the other woman and we are in counseling. We have been married 2 years and we have a perfect healthy 10-month old daughter who is the light of our life, so I am not ready to give up on the life we want to have together. I need help on how I can support him as he fights his demons and still allow myself to express my fears, sadness, anger, etc for what he has done to our family and demand that he be the man I know he can be for me and for his daughter.

Our Timeline:
    Oct 2007: (before we met) My husband was rear-ended while driving and got a herniated disc in his neck. He was given pain pills... way too many pain pills... and got hooked.
    Dec 2008: He realized he had a problem, and began going to a methadone clinic to get clean.
    Nov 2009: Completely off of Methadone... a couple months later we met and started dating
    Apr 2010: after a root canal he was prescribed more pain pills and relapsed.
    Jul 2010: He began Suboxone treatment and opened up to me several months later about his struggle with addiction and his efforts to get clean. I supported him and have ever since... we got married in 2013 and had a baby in 2015.