Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Iwantoff2013
  • 1 Post By iloerose
Just been switched from suboxone to subutex & not really liking it as much?
    Meg79 is offline New Member

Default Just been switched from suboxone to subutex & not really liking it as much?

I'm new to this so any advice will be helpful. I was addicted to pain pills for 7 yrs then started using >>>>>> for 2 years. Been clean for 18 months thanks to suboxone & a great doctor. Yesterday my doc switched me to subutex. First question is what is the difference? & why am I craving the suboxone still? I don't feel like the subutex works like the suboxone did. Will this get better or is it all in my head? Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks😊

iloerose is offline Platinum Member

Subutex does not contain naloxone, which in part stops cravings. You have been on subs a long while and they are an opiate in a sense. You can become addicted to subs over time and that may be what you are experiencing now. What mg. are you taking per day? My advice? Look at Robert_325's taper plan and start making plans to get off the sub. 18 months is a long time to be on subs. It will get better on the subutex, however, much of this is mental. I am posting Robert's taper plan, and please keep in mind it is not set in stone. We are finding more and more people who have been on sub maintenance and the taper can be modified to fit you. So a few questions:

How many mg. are you on?
    Why were you switched to subutex?
    Do you want off the subs and to be free of all opiates?

https://www.drugs.com/forum/featured...apy-50887.html

Wishing you the best!

Peace,

Iloerose