Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By Randy35
  • 2 Post By Ming23
  • 3 Post By Randy35
My suboxone taper and advice
    Gurgi89 is offline New Member

Default My suboxone taper and advice

Just posted this elsewhere, just trying to spread it around so people can see it, hopefully someone will find it helpful!

I have successfully completed my taper from suboxone/subutex and I felt like sharing my experience and some of my thoughts so that they might help some people to break free from opiate addiction.

Very brief history of my use - Active addiction: about 18 months, using oxycodone, morphine, >>>>>>, fentanyl, hydromorphone etc. Was an intravenous user. Went onto methadone program for about 2 years then tapered down and swapped to suboxone. Tapered suboxone over about 6 months. Now clean.

No point going into it any more than that, if anyone has any questions though I am happy to answer them.

The first thing I will discuss is the technicalities of the taper. I am not a doctor or a pharmacist, all my knowledge is from the internet/books etc. I try to cross-reference information but don't claim to be an expert, the following information is just my personal understanding of things.

When I swapped from methadone to suboxone I stabilised on 8mg, higher than I had anticipated but that's how the cookie crumbled. It took me a few months to get used to the suboxone, I believe due to its partial agonist activity as opposed to the full agonist activity of the methadone. It felt a lot different to be on, I was less sedated and had less 'euphoria'. Overall I didn't like the suboxone, I never felt quite right on it and this may have made coming off it easier, I'm not sure.

I will write my suggestions which come from my own trial and error experience with the taper. This is what I found worked the best after buggering it up a few times.

These are the dose reductions from 32mg, in case you are on a higher dose like that.

32mg 14mg 1.2mg
    30mg 12mg 1mg
    28mg 10mg .8mg