• 2 Post By Catrina
  • 4 Post By Lvg nghtmare
  • 1 Post By justincutler
  • 1 Post By Lvg nghtmare
  • 1 Post By Lvg nghtmare
Suboxone induction not going well. Day 6
    justincutler is offline New Member

Default Suboxone induction not going well. Day 6

Hello, I am new here and this is my first time posting here. Day 6 and can't level out. This is my first time using Suboxone.

I am trying to start on suboxone after being on 40mg of methadone for 8 years for an injury from a car wreck. My doctor died unexpectedly and they wouldn't fill my latest script of methadone so I was forced to cut down to 20mg. I knew I would never find another doctor for methadone so I figured I need to just get off of it. I cut from 40mg to 20mg immediately and was in a sub clinic 5 days later. It has been 10 days since I had my last 20mg of methadone. My sub induction isn't going very well. I still feel like I am having withdrawals in between doses and when I wake up in the morning.

I took my first dose of Suboxone on Saturday. The doc has me on a 8mg strip in the morning and then 4mg in the evening. I took the 8mg on Saturday but it made me too speedy and light headed.

After reading numerous posts it seemed maybe I don't really need to be on this much suboxone if the goal is to get off of it eventually. Since then I have tried different doses (2mg split up three times a day, 4mg twice a day). I find that after 5 or 6 hours after a smaller dose I start feeling withdrawal symptoms and need to dose again. I tried another 8mg on Wednesday and I still had the speedy feeling like I was strung out. I was at work but it was very difficult. I then took a 4mg at 5pm when I left work and felt fine until the morning when I woke up. I know I am not helping anything by jumping around with the dosage but I am trying to find out what works.