Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes
Wanting to start Subs detox.
    HeavyFD is offline New Member

Default Wanting to start Subs detox.

Alrighty....let me make a very long story as short as I can. I'm a firefighter/paramedic that injured myself in two separate incidents 10 months apart contributing to the same injury that I have been off for, for the almost 3 years. I originally fell and fractured my lower back which wasn't found until the second injury when I was lifting a heavy patient and the fracture spread apart by a few millimeters. The pain I was having though was due to a disc that herniated and was pressing the S1 nerve root between itself and a bone spur. Workers comp gave me their normal runaround until I finally decided that it was time to get it fixed with my group health and continue fighting them in the meantime. All this led to a physical dependence on opiates. I have never enjoyed taking and being tethered to these drugs...but they were a necessity because without them, I could hardly walk. Through some sort of miracle...the surgery that I just had last week was a total success even though the surgeon wasn't optimistic due to the length of time that the nerve had been impinged. Over the past 3 years I have taken pretty much everything (nucynta, vicodin, percocet, dilaudid, tramadol, generic morphine, avinza and I'm sure a few others). I would take them until they stopped working effectively and then ask to be changed. I learned pretty quickly that I was physically addicted when I decided to not take my nucynta because I felt pretty good pain wise one day. I was drenched in sweat, freezing, shaking, nauseous. My wife was trying to talk me into going to see a doctor when it dawned on me what it might be...took a pill and within 30 minutes I felt normal. Lol...that was a wake up call. Anyway....fast forward almost 3 years and I had my surgery last week and miraculously my back pain and leg pain is about 95% gone and I am ready to start physical